top of page

V + T Rates: "Whack World" - Tierra Whack

Expression, sadness, confidence, and a glimpse of reality.

Tierra Whack’s ”Whack World” released back in 2018. The album consisted of 15 stongs lasting for almost 15 minutes with each song lasting 60 seconds accompanied by audiovisual.



Each track is filled with an exceeding amount of imagination, a raw balance of fantasy and nightmares. 15 minutes seems like a work cut short however, each song has its own style and melodic production. It takes away the overwhelming pressure that some albums exude. The unconventional format communicates Whack’s individuality and her own spin and creative control on this project.


In an interview with Pitchfork, Whack talked about how the project came about:

I was just in the studio—recording, recording, recording. I was at a point where I had so many songs that were all so different. In the industry, you’re told that you have to stick to one sound, but that’s boring to me. So I’m like, ‘Yo, I have to give people a taste of everything.’ I’m thinking about myself performing live, and I don’t wanna do the same type of song 10 or 20 times. I wanna mix it up.


We rate this album a 9/10. 

A gifted lyricist 


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page